Saturday, February 28, 2009

Madea Goes to Jail

Obviously I'm not the target demographic for the film and it's clear that Madea's name is plastered all over it to draw more people in. It's a melodramatic crap rape/ marriage film for the African American demographic.

I enjoyed Perry's first two films (Diary and Family Reunion) but this one has nothing the others haven't had. It has dash of religion, some lame twist involving our main female having trauma in her past and being unable to get past it. It's the typical BS that he puts out and he's been on a roll of releasing crap which is a shame because his first film was actually pretty good.

Movie - 1.5 /5

Sunday, February 22, 2009

Coraline (3D)

This was suppose to come out last year so I lowered my expectations of it. I've also read the book and arrived late to the film so my mood wasn't the best. The film is pretty dark, in both lighting and the tone of it. A number of parents took the children out during the film, mainly towards the dark finale.

But I can't help but say I enjoyed myself, even the father next to me was enjoying it and laughing at the jokes. Some of the humor is a bit too adult though, imagine a fat old lady wearing nothing but pasties above the waist.

My only real let down with the film is the 3D aspect of it. It never really popped except for a few moments here and there and it feels more like an after thought than anything else. Worth a viewing but not in 3D.

Movie - 3.5/5

Wednesday, February 18, 2009

New In Town

The previews looked some what amusing but then I sat down to watch it and it felt like a totally different movie. it's a total chick flick since it has the HC jr factor and I honestly can't stand him. Although much more tolerable in this than in PS I Love You.

The film follows a woman who heads to a small town in Minnesota where she needs to decide to shut a factory down her not. She makes a bad impression, falls for the stuff blah blah blah.

If you've seen one, you've seen them all. Much like in 2008, the rom com is a tired and drawn out genre and with Ghost Town beng the only one worth seeing in 2008 I can safely say 2009 isn't looking much better.

Movie - 1/5

Recommend: No

Friday, February 13, 2009

Friday the 13th

I don't remember my first introduction to Ft13th but I remember making my mother rent me all of them in order on VHS. 3 is an all time favorite of mine (banana girl FTW). Anyway, I had huge hopes for this film. TCM people remaking my favorite horror series. They promised nudity, blood, and twists and turns.

To prep myself I watched the documentary released a few weeks ago on the series as a whole and enjoyed it but got worried by the guy who plays the new Jason. It would be unfair for me to ruin anything in the film but fans should find enough drugs, sex and nudity to please them.

it combines the first three films into one fine package. What's great (and where Halloween failed) is the fact that this feels like it's own film without feeling like a remake. It's something I never imagined but it's a whole new beast.

The deaths are fun but classic. A lot of homage is given during those. the nudity is awesome and the film has a lot of great one liners. There's only one annoying guy who you can't wait to be killed off. The kill order is all over the place (thus it becomes unpredictable) and the two token guys (the asian and the african american) play with the cliche idea and they both deliver the laughs.

But what's truly new is Jason himself. His first appearance is actually shocking. Not due to anything except the tone that is set before it, almost as if you forgot it's a horror film. After that you realize he's one badass and if he was real you'd be dead. This guy runs, he plays with his prey and is just an all around badass. And yet we don't see him as a human (so much scarier than what Zombie did with Meyers in halloween).

I totally left the film pleased. I can rarely say that but I felt they got every key point correct, good acting, nice nudity and enough homages to please all fans. I also think it was a great theater experience (despite it having a lot of little kids, around 8, in it, seriously? Who brings kids to these kind of films?).

Movie - 4/5

Recommend: Hell Yes.

NOTE: Oddly enough this was my 13th reveiwed film for this blog

Saturday, February 7, 2009

Inkheart

I read the entire trilogy so I knew what to expect going into the film but let me say also that the first and third book drag on forever with nothing happening.

The same can eb said for this film. Despite a few changes here and there and some modern additions like the Wizard of Oz the film sticks true to the novel which isn't exactly a good thing. One plus is the film is self contained and doesn't require the two sequels to complete it all.

The cast does a fine job, even if some feel like they have played the role a hundred times before (Fraiser). The special effects are decent, the action is decent. All around it's a decent film but I can't fully recommend it. Maybe if you have kids who want to see it, then it might be worth a viewing but otherwise I'd pass it up. If the sequel is made it's a much better story despite a to be continued ending.

Monday, February 2, 2009

The Uninvited

I loved a Tale of 2 Sisters but I have to admitI was very interested when this project was announced a few years ago but now that it's here I can't help but wonder why they went the route they did. Granted my memory of the original isn't perfect and I could use a rewatching but I don't like some of the changes, mainly the final 3 minutes.

The twists and turns are the same but it's just missing something. I do love the girl who plays Anna but I also liked her as Violet in A Series of unfortunate Events. Everyone does a decent job in the acting department, the cinematography is pretty good and even the writing is decent. What's surprising is that it's pretty good but comes off as solid gold when compared to every single pg-13 horror film since The Ring (which I regard as the ebst remake of a j-horror title).

Movie - 2.5/5