Sunday, April 26, 2009

The Soloist

When a "Oscar" film gets bumped into the dead time, you just know it will fail. Well, The Soloist doesn't totally fail for what it sets out to do but I just couldn't bring myself to care.

Just another based on a true story film. It follows the story of a journalist who finds a gifted musician who now lives on the streets. He also suffers from schizophrenic and how he and those around him deal with it.

I find Downey to be a complete ass whenever I see him. While this isn't exactly like that, I still see that in the film (for whatever reason). The cast does a fine job but none of them deliver anything memorable.

I wouldn't go out of my way to see this but you could do worse I guess.

Movie 2.5 /5

Hannah Montana: The Movie

I have never seen an entire episode of the tv show. It's painful and I lasted just a few minutes. I did end up seeing the 3D cocnert last year for my movie challenge and hey, some of the songs are kind of catchy.

I did dread this film for a few reasons. I don't know much about the show outside she's a normal teen who also happens to be a major singing star but keeps it as a secret identity. The idea of the film is that Hannah has pulled a Lindsey Lohan and has to be sent back to the country to find herself.

Along the way there is music, lies and a boyfriend. It follows the most cliched routes to get to the climax of the film, which has been used in every film of this type. The ending is so corny I wanted to kill myself. Promises of an entire town to never reveal Hannah's secret (or is it Miley's secret? I have no clue) Either way the film is so bleh and not because I'm a 20-something male either, it's bleh because it has not one redeeming or original idea behind it. It even fails at having heart or making you care about these characters because Miley is just another dumb teen, doing what dumb teens do.

Movie - .5 / 5

Friday, April 17, 2009

pink panther 2

I've had this sitting here forever. I personally thought the first film was mildly amusing. A surprise for sure since I went to see it while my friends went to see Brokeback Mountain for a second time (seriously?). Anyway, I had more expectations for this one but god is it bad.

The jokes are actually painful. It isn't funny once and I couldn't help but feel sorry for the entire cast. Jean Reno deserves better than this and I can't fathom why he didn't walk off the set or toss the script away when he saw the shampoo scene which has to be seen for how horrible it is.

Movie - .5/5

Wednesday, April 15, 2009

adventureland

This movie was a flop but it's from a creative team that hasn't done me wrong until now. This movie is complete ass. it isn't funny or amusing. The acting is passable but I didn't find it interesting at all.

Personally, last years Choke had more fun with the general theme of working in an amusement park-esq settings and granted that had such a minor role in that movie but maybe there is a reason for that.

And actually, this film reminded me of Detroit Rock City for some reason and I really hate that movie as well.

Movie - .5 /5

fast and furious

I only liked the second film (plus the soundtrack rocks) but anyway, I had no interest in this. Sure the cast is back but thats only because the actors haven't done anything worth while except a few disney live action films and we know how great those are...

This film takes place right after the second one I believe and fills of the gap for 2 and 3 to be very conencted. If Rodrigus (SP) didn't have a big mouth on her then maybe this film and rest of hers for the eyar wouldn't have been spoiled. DAMN YOU!

Anyway, the film runs along at a steady pace, has some decent action but it just feels like the first one but only slightly upgraded. A .5 would have been better than the same title as the first film... Oh wait, it has no "the" in it... Ugh...

Movie - 1/5

the international

I've been sitting on this film for a few weeks. I love Clive Owen so I did want to see it but it bared a resemblance to his other new movie with Julia Roberts and I kept getting confused on which was which.

Much like Michale Clayton I can't help but not like the film. It's not bad. it's moderately entertaining, has solid acting but at the end of the day it just did nothing for me. It's decent in everything it does but again I couldn't enjoy it for whatever reason.

Movie - 2.5 /5

Wednesday, April 1, 2009

x-men origins: Wolverine

So, I'm obviously a big Wolverine fan. Not only that but I've seen all of the x-men films on opening day. The true terror was revealed to me when I realized I would be in Budapest when this film opens. So imagine my shock when the workprint hit the net. I screamed with joy and quickly played it.

Now, bare in mind that a few things may have been changed with the reshoots and this workprint had some work to be done with the special effects still but I'd say it's a 95% complete film.

The fan service is all over the place with gambit and Blob taking of some screen time. I do wish more time was spent with Sabertooth who kicks so much ass that I can't even say how awesome he is. My only problem is really the end of the film.

I was let down by the identity of XI and the final sabertooth stuff felt kind of cheesy, even his final line was kind of lame. But other wise it's a solid action film and I REALLY liked the action a lot. I'll be seeing the film once I get back from my vacation but right now it's in my top 5 of 2009 releases.

movie - 4/5