Sunday, April 26, 2009

The Soloist

When a "Oscar" film gets bumped into the dead time, you just know it will fail. Well, The Soloist doesn't totally fail for what it sets out to do but I just couldn't bring myself to care.

Just another based on a true story film. It follows the story of a journalist who finds a gifted musician who now lives on the streets. He also suffers from schizophrenic and how he and those around him deal with it.

I find Downey to be a complete ass whenever I see him. While this isn't exactly like that, I still see that in the film (for whatever reason). The cast does a fine job but none of them deliver anything memorable.

I wouldn't go out of my way to see this but you could do worse I guess.

Movie 2.5 /5

Hannah Montana: The Movie

I have never seen an entire episode of the tv show. It's painful and I lasted just a few minutes. I did end up seeing the 3D cocnert last year for my movie challenge and hey, some of the songs are kind of catchy.

I did dread this film for a few reasons. I don't know much about the show outside she's a normal teen who also happens to be a major singing star but keeps it as a secret identity. The idea of the film is that Hannah has pulled a Lindsey Lohan and has to be sent back to the country to find herself.

Along the way there is music, lies and a boyfriend. It follows the most cliched routes to get to the climax of the film, which has been used in every film of this type. The ending is so corny I wanted to kill myself. Promises of an entire town to never reveal Hannah's secret (or is it Miley's secret? I have no clue) Either way the film is so bleh and not because I'm a 20-something male either, it's bleh because it has not one redeeming or original idea behind it. It even fails at having heart or making you care about these characters because Miley is just another dumb teen, doing what dumb teens do.

Movie - .5 / 5

Friday, April 17, 2009

pink panther 2

I've had this sitting here forever. I personally thought the first film was mildly amusing. A surprise for sure since I went to see it while my friends went to see Brokeback Mountain for a second time (seriously?). Anyway, I had more expectations for this one but god is it bad.

The jokes are actually painful. It isn't funny once and I couldn't help but feel sorry for the entire cast. Jean Reno deserves better than this and I can't fathom why he didn't walk off the set or toss the script away when he saw the shampoo scene which has to be seen for how horrible it is.

Movie - .5/5

Wednesday, April 15, 2009

adventureland

This movie was a flop but it's from a creative team that hasn't done me wrong until now. This movie is complete ass. it isn't funny or amusing. The acting is passable but I didn't find it interesting at all.

Personally, last years Choke had more fun with the general theme of working in an amusement park-esq settings and granted that had such a minor role in that movie but maybe there is a reason for that.

And actually, this film reminded me of Detroit Rock City for some reason and I really hate that movie as well.

Movie - .5 /5

fast and furious

I only liked the second film (plus the soundtrack rocks) but anyway, I had no interest in this. Sure the cast is back but thats only because the actors haven't done anything worth while except a few disney live action films and we know how great those are...

This film takes place right after the second one I believe and fills of the gap for 2 and 3 to be very conencted. If Rodrigus (SP) didn't have a big mouth on her then maybe this film and rest of hers for the eyar wouldn't have been spoiled. DAMN YOU!

Anyway, the film runs along at a steady pace, has some decent action but it just feels like the first one but only slightly upgraded. A .5 would have been better than the same title as the first film... Oh wait, it has no "the" in it... Ugh...

Movie - 1/5

the international

I've been sitting on this film for a few weeks. I love Clive Owen so I did want to see it but it bared a resemblance to his other new movie with Julia Roberts and I kept getting confused on which was which.

Much like Michale Clayton I can't help but not like the film. It's not bad. it's moderately entertaining, has solid acting but at the end of the day it just did nothing for me. It's decent in everything it does but again I couldn't enjoy it for whatever reason.

Movie - 2.5 /5

Wednesday, April 1, 2009

x-men origins: Wolverine

So, I'm obviously a big Wolverine fan. Not only that but I've seen all of the x-men films on opening day. The true terror was revealed to me when I realized I would be in Budapest when this film opens. So imagine my shock when the workprint hit the net. I screamed with joy and quickly played it.

Now, bare in mind that a few things may have been changed with the reshoots and this workprint had some work to be done with the special effects still but I'd say it's a 95% complete film.

The fan service is all over the place with gambit and Blob taking of some screen time. I do wish more time was spent with Sabertooth who kicks so much ass that I can't even say how awesome he is. My only problem is really the end of the film.

I was let down by the identity of XI and the final sabertooth stuff felt kind of cheesy, even his final line was kind of lame. But other wise it's a solid action film and I REALLY liked the action a lot. I'll be seeing the film once I get back from my vacation but right now it's in my top 5 of 2009 releases.

movie - 4/5

he's just not that into you

I can honestly say I wanted to see this movie. Then I saw it and much like Confessions of a shopaholic, the film has nothing to stand on. It's a flimsy film with nothing there to make it worth viewing.

Not that it doesn't have a good idea in it but really, it wears thin very quickly and what annoys me is that it wastes not only my time but the actors it got and the actors are quality, for the most part but they don't get anything worth while to work with.

movie - 1.5 /5

the haunting in conneticut

So I took my 12 y/o nephew to see Aliens vs monsters in 3d. He said he didnt want to see it but wanted to see watchmen. Yeah... No... So this was our alternate route of attack. I love horror films and my nephew was scared ****less and I could tell because he hid his face every time somethign scary might happen, by placing his arm in a weird angle to get popcorn.

But whatever. I also can't tell you how true to the real story the film stays but it's pretty decent. The scares are more along the lines of jump outs and loud music but it works. What I did like is the horrors got better as the film went on, making the film even creepier.

It has some flaws but really it works and even the acting is good. Is it worth a theatrical viewing? Eh, not really but it's still worth checking out at some point down the line,

Movie - 2.5 / 5

race to witch mountain

I have no idea if I've seen the other films so I can't compare. I don't even know if this is a remake or just another sequel or a reboot.

None of that matters. What matters is this is a film about aliens pretending to be kids who need to get to the top of a mountain. The Rock starts and proves yet again he couldn't act out of a wet paperbag but that's okay ebcause the film is kind of campy ina way. Well, as campy as a live action Disney film can be.

Not the best movie ever but it does what it sets out to do. I doubt fans of the series will be pleased and really, nothing much happens in the film but I thought it was "okay".

Movie - 2/5

Saturday, March 21, 2009

the knowing

Imagine if you found a piece of paper that showed you when, where and how many will die. Now imagine it shows not noly what has happened but what will happen. With this power Nicky Cage must save the world.

One problem is that he and the rest of the cast really can't act. It's stiff and wooden and some of the scenes are laughable. The field scene in the last 10 minutes had me laughing my ass off. It was so abdly done.

In a world where every film needs a plot twist I have to admit I wasn't surprised when one came out of left field. it's almost as out of left field as Hancock's twist but there are enough annoying clues that you know something involving this will happen. Just not what and when it happens I couldn't help but wonder why we wasted our time going this path..

Whatever, just skip it like any other recent Cage film. Won't America learn to not pay for this crap?

movie - 1/5

last house on the left

I saw the original way back when and was surprised by the tone of the film so imagine my confusion when I saw a trailer for this and having not heard they were even remaking it. Well, maybe there's a reason.

Maybe we're less sensitive these days but this film isn't shocking and instead I couldn't help but wonder why the characters were so 2 dimensional in a film where no one dies for a good 40 minutes.

I'm not watching it solely for the T&A (which I found kind of tame in this one) and the gore, while good in spots felt over the top dumb. What's worse is the final scene of the film is in the trailer... Seriously? and it's THAT scene? wtf is wrong with Hollywood.

Anyway, I can't say I'd recommend this one. It did nothing for me and we've had better "horror" films this year.

Movie - 1/5

Friday, March 6, 2009

Watchmen

I read the graphic novel either last year or the year before that and even then I kenw of it but had finally found a good deal on it. I wasn't overly thrilled with it when I finished it and couldn't figure otu what the big deal is. But I was excited for the film.

The best description is that it's this years Cloverfield. That stylish film that is released early in the year and hopefully sets the trend for rest of the big films but some how is better than them anyway.

Of course the film is far from perfect. Fans of the novel will eat this film up. It painstakingly keeps everything it can and it actually drags the film down. It's long, Dark knight long but unlike TDK the film drags for the first 90 minutes, I actually wanted to make myself fall asleep out of sheer boredom.

The characters are great and the ultimate story is badass but it takes so long for anything remotely exciting to happen after the awesome opening that I almost wish they didn't include every minor detail.

I'll be bashed for it but this is a good example of why a lot of novels aren't exact copies and maybe that is why I was bored with the beginning. I knew exactly where it all was going and I recognized so many scenes being from the novel, despite reading it so long ago.

My complaints aren't real complaints I guess. It's a really well done movie all around. From the acting to the kick ass soundtrack it never stops being what it was meant to be. But I can't help but feel that the first half was too dull for it's own good and thankfully the final half kicks lots of ass. Don't go in expecting the next superhero flick because it isn't that. it's a different beast all together and maybe it won't be for everyone but it's worth a viewing by some means but I don't know if it's worth the 3 hours in the theater.

Movie - 4/5

Tuesday, March 3, 2009

Confessions of a Shopaholic

I was interested in this, thinking it might be amusing if nothing else. Yeah... No... It has no substance at all. By the end it felt like I just watched a 5 minutes movie about nothing happening. I guess the pace is good but I couldn't help but feel like I wasted the 89 minutes and that I should have them back.

The acting is fine but really the movie has nothing else going for it besides a decent soundtrack (although that too is girly). Just not my kind of film I guess...

Movie - 1.5 /5

Monday, March 2, 2009

Street Fighter: The Legend of Chun-li

We all know the original Street Fighter film was horrible but had some redeeming qualities in the cheese factor department. However, I never fathomed a sequel being made and this later. And while it isn't exactly a sequel, more like a prequel it does nothing but make a mess of the entire thing as a whole.

Characters are totally changed around. Sure Blanka looked lame in the first film but in this we have an Irish Mison... Seriously? Bah. Even the action is piss poor due to weird editing that makes it all feel choppy and then don't get me started on the Street Fighter rap that happens and brings make horrid memories of the Vanilla Ice Ninja Turtle rap in the second Turtles film (which really almost ruins the film).

Anyway, I'd say avoid it. It'll piss fans off and just annoy everyone else. Better off never being thought of again.

Movie - .5 /5

Sunday, March 1, 2009

Push

This movie looked inetresting but so did Jumper and we know how that was. Well, Push is slightly better but it feels more like Wanted meets Heroes. Not really a abd thing but it seems to lack any original thoughts, even the ending felt ripped from both sources.

The action is decent, the powers are fun and hell, even the acting is pretty good. But then the film just kind of exists. I will most likely never watch it again or give it a thought but if you're desperate for an action film and have already seen Taken then I guess Push wouldn't be a horrible option...

Movie - 2.5 /5

Saturday, February 28, 2009

Madea Goes to Jail

Obviously I'm not the target demographic for the film and it's clear that Madea's name is plastered all over it to draw more people in. It's a melodramatic crap rape/ marriage film for the African American demographic.

I enjoyed Perry's first two films (Diary and Family Reunion) but this one has nothing the others haven't had. It has dash of religion, some lame twist involving our main female having trauma in her past and being unable to get past it. It's the typical BS that he puts out and he's been on a roll of releasing crap which is a shame because his first film was actually pretty good.

Movie - 1.5 /5

Sunday, February 22, 2009

Coraline (3D)

This was suppose to come out last year so I lowered my expectations of it. I've also read the book and arrived late to the film so my mood wasn't the best. The film is pretty dark, in both lighting and the tone of it. A number of parents took the children out during the film, mainly towards the dark finale.

But I can't help but say I enjoyed myself, even the father next to me was enjoying it and laughing at the jokes. Some of the humor is a bit too adult though, imagine a fat old lady wearing nothing but pasties above the waist.

My only real let down with the film is the 3D aspect of it. It never really popped except for a few moments here and there and it feels more like an after thought than anything else. Worth a viewing but not in 3D.

Movie - 3.5/5

Wednesday, February 18, 2009

New In Town

The previews looked some what amusing but then I sat down to watch it and it felt like a totally different movie. it's a total chick flick since it has the HC jr factor and I honestly can't stand him. Although much more tolerable in this than in PS I Love You.

The film follows a woman who heads to a small town in Minnesota where she needs to decide to shut a factory down her not. She makes a bad impression, falls for the stuff blah blah blah.

If you've seen one, you've seen them all. Much like in 2008, the rom com is a tired and drawn out genre and with Ghost Town beng the only one worth seeing in 2008 I can safely say 2009 isn't looking much better.

Movie - 1/5

Recommend: No

Friday, February 13, 2009

Friday the 13th

I don't remember my first introduction to Ft13th but I remember making my mother rent me all of them in order on VHS. 3 is an all time favorite of mine (banana girl FTW). Anyway, I had huge hopes for this film. TCM people remaking my favorite horror series. They promised nudity, blood, and twists and turns.

To prep myself I watched the documentary released a few weeks ago on the series as a whole and enjoyed it but got worried by the guy who plays the new Jason. It would be unfair for me to ruin anything in the film but fans should find enough drugs, sex and nudity to please them.

it combines the first three films into one fine package. What's great (and where Halloween failed) is the fact that this feels like it's own film without feeling like a remake. It's something I never imagined but it's a whole new beast.

The deaths are fun but classic. A lot of homage is given during those. the nudity is awesome and the film has a lot of great one liners. There's only one annoying guy who you can't wait to be killed off. The kill order is all over the place (thus it becomes unpredictable) and the two token guys (the asian and the african american) play with the cliche idea and they both deliver the laughs.

But what's truly new is Jason himself. His first appearance is actually shocking. Not due to anything except the tone that is set before it, almost as if you forgot it's a horror film. After that you realize he's one badass and if he was real you'd be dead. This guy runs, he plays with his prey and is just an all around badass. And yet we don't see him as a human (so much scarier than what Zombie did with Meyers in halloween).

I totally left the film pleased. I can rarely say that but I felt they got every key point correct, good acting, nice nudity and enough homages to please all fans. I also think it was a great theater experience (despite it having a lot of little kids, around 8, in it, seriously? Who brings kids to these kind of films?).

Movie - 4/5

Recommend: Hell Yes.

NOTE: Oddly enough this was my 13th reveiwed film for this blog

Saturday, February 7, 2009

Inkheart

I read the entire trilogy so I knew what to expect going into the film but let me say also that the first and third book drag on forever with nothing happening.

The same can eb said for this film. Despite a few changes here and there and some modern additions like the Wizard of Oz the film sticks true to the novel which isn't exactly a good thing. One plus is the film is self contained and doesn't require the two sequels to complete it all.

The cast does a fine job, even if some feel like they have played the role a hundred times before (Fraiser). The special effects are decent, the action is decent. All around it's a decent film but I can't fully recommend it. Maybe if you have kids who want to see it, then it might be worth a viewing but otherwise I'd pass it up. If the sequel is made it's a much better story despite a to be continued ending.

Monday, February 2, 2009

The Uninvited

I loved a Tale of 2 Sisters but I have to admitI was very interested when this project was announced a few years ago but now that it's here I can't help but wonder why they went the route they did. Granted my memory of the original isn't perfect and I could use a rewatching but I don't like some of the changes, mainly the final 3 minutes.

The twists and turns are the same but it's just missing something. I do love the girl who plays Anna but I also liked her as Violet in A Series of unfortunate Events. Everyone does a decent job in the acting department, the cinematography is pretty good and even the writing is decent. What's surprising is that it's pretty good but comes off as solid gold when compared to every single pg-13 horror film since The Ring (which I regard as the ebst remake of a j-horror title).

Movie - 2.5/5

Monday, January 26, 2009

Underworld: Rise of the Lycans

I hated the first two films. I thought they were trash. I'm still surprised that they not only made a third film but that it's a prequel AND it made it to the theaters.

The original cast is pretty much gone since it's a prequel aka saved some money. Oddly enough though the cast is rather good in this film. You don't often seen real acting in a vampire werewolf war film but of course it's not a typical film style I guess.

The special effects have also taken a few steps back, again a budgeting issue I'm sure. But still the film ran it's course quickly, I didn't whine or anything about anything in particular and the film just kind of exists. Is it better than the others? I'd say yes but that doesn't mean a whole lot coming from a hater of the others. Fans should get their thrills and plot hole fillings but anyone else should pass.

Movie - 2.5/5

Saturday, January 24, 2009

Hotel For Dogs

I had no interest in seeing this film. It looked like another BHC film and frankly I wasn't in the mood for it but hey why not suffer some more I thought to myself.

To be fair though the film isn't that bad. Some kids take in stray dogs and they live with an adopted family blah blah blah. People are evil, issues arise, theft, cops yadda yadda. You get the drift.

it's a kids movie and while it wasn't very humor or even adventurous I think the dog factor alone would entertain any child under the age of 10. I'll never see the film again, I won't recommend it but really did did nothing but exist so I can't say it was horrible, but just there.

entertainment value - 2/5

Movie - 2/5

Wednesday, January 21, 2009

Not Easily Broken

Your theater would have only gotten this film if you are in a catholic area or african american area. FACT because it never came near me yet I get the limited release films. There's a lot less god talk than I was expecting because I was expecting Fireproof. But there was enough ebonics to make a person cry.

The film follows a typical family plot line of anger, possible cheating and regrets. It's been done before, the actors are annoying and I really don't feel like devoting more time to this crap. This is a fine example of why Hollywood is in a slump.

Entertainment Value - 1/5

Movie - 1/5

Monday, January 19, 2009

Paul Blart: Mall Cop

I liked Kevin James a lot. He actually reminds me of a former co-worker I had. But still I thought the previews looked amusing and after my last failed attempt at a comedy I figured I'd give this shot.

I'm some what glad I didn't bother seeing it in the theater. it's mildly funny but it takes half the way to build the character of Blart and then the stuff from the trailer happens. The jokes are pretty good but a lot of it is stuff we've seen before. Jumping into glass doors ect.

But still, James is very likable in the role and sometimes that's enough. I can't fully recommend the movie but I'd say it's worth catching on tv or renting some day. It's very family friendly as well, besides a weird drunk scene which felt sort of out of place. Oh and the Indian guy is so god damn annoying.

Entertainment Value - 3/5

Movie - 2.5 /5

Sunday, January 18, 2009

Notorious

I hate rap music. To me it's the thing that destroyed what music is today. Everything needs a hiphop beat and 50 guest appearances. For something that is suppose to originate from flowing thoughts it sure has become shallow.

And that's the best way to describe Notorious because it's as shallow as any music biopic. They never portray a person as bad but always as someone caring and/or nice which may not have been their public image and yes, maybe BIG was that way but it feels so fake in this film because both personas come off as fake but they might be because of the actor.

The only plus is the nudity but then you need to see the naked chicks riding a fat man so it loses all sex appeal. Harsh as I sound I can't recommend it to anyone but those die hard Biggy fans. I personally hated his music years ago when he was alive and I hate it as much in this movie.

Entertainment value - 1/5

Movie - 2/5

Friday, January 16, 2009

My Bloody Valentine 3D

I've never seen the original but I have it ready for a viewing, maybe later tonight. I wanted to go into this movie without knowing anything besides what was shown in the trailers.

The 3D is nicely done, I recommend sitting far back and up high for best effect. Nothing like a hotty running around naked showing us what god gave her and in eye popping 3d yummy. Not only that but the gore is nicely done and the characters are fairly likable and don't often do too many dumb things.

My only real problems lie in the final scene of the film and in the fact that the 3d element feels forced at times with awkward pauses to allow the kills to happen. other than that it's a great watch for horror fans, the scares are decent and again 3d full frontal nudity.

PS: If someone starts talking out loud about every 3d effect being fresh, please stab him for me because this movie also proved why I hate going to movies that aren't for ancient old people. Hell, Wall-E offered a better audience than this did.

entertainment value - 5/5

Movie - 4/5

Thursday, January 15, 2009

Bride Wars

I saw this a few days ago actually but couldn't bring myself to write the review and only feel forced due to having watched another movie since then. I liked the idea the trailers presented. two best friends who accidentally get the same wedding date at the same place and neither willing to budge so it's a big ole cat fight, ala Mean Girls.

In reality it's nowhere near that level of entertainment. The mean things are mostly shown in the trailer. Hudson's character actually forces her boyfriend to propose because her best friend is getting married (thus solving the problem IMO) but the film never goes there. It's a shallow movie all around and with one memorable scene in a club being the only worth while moment for the whole film.

Girls will love it because girls love these kind of films. Hell, I work with two girls who got married and knocked up around the same time and kinda sorta married into each others family so I know this could kinda sorta happen.

Entertainment Value - 2/5

Movie - 2/5

Monday, January 12, 2009

The Unborn

The previews for this film creeped me out. What can I say, evil children scare me but normal children do as well so I dunno.

Anyway, a girl finds out she had a twin but it died in the womb. Now it wants to come back. Basic plot here and the first part is creepy stuffs, second part is very boring and then some how the finale is kind of epic when compared to every pg13 horror film in the past 5 years. It's seriously solid with the creep factor and deaths.

I won't say it's a great film and the final scenes are lame and have been done before (Sandra Bullock did it a few years ago) but still it's very fitting I guess. Horror fans should give it a go but otherwise I'd pass because it's not the next great horror film.

Entertainment Value - 3.5 /5

Movie - 3/5

Friday, January 9, 2009

The Poughkeepsie Tapes (limited release)

I heard of this movie a few years ago when it was at some film festival and now it's gotten a more main stream release. Limited of course but it's available at least. The only problem is that it isn't all that good.

The idea of the film is that it's a documentary about these tapes, snuff films if you will, that are found and they belong to this killer in Poughkeepsie. While not a real documentary and not even based on a real killer (it's a mix of 3 or 4) the film actually comes off as fake.

The acting is often questionable and maybe it's because I went in expecting a real documentary and instead got blindsided within a few minutes with the bad acting. I like that this fake footage is shown in the film when needed and some of it is just random like the girl being told to bounce and pop the balloon. By the end I just didn't care because it was done so poorly. All the buzz and it's a flop...

Movie - 1/5

Recommend: No

Sunday, January 4, 2009

Without A Paddle Nature's Calling (Advance DTV review)

First 2009 review I guess and it's a DTV film. Unsure if this blog will ever get an official release but we'll see. This will run alongside my gfaqs movie blog.

---

The original film was only mildly amusing so imagine my surprise when a DTV sequel was announced with no one returning, actor or character wise. The plot is kind of lame. The old lady from Wedding Singer is dying so some friends go out into the wild to find her grand daughter, whom one of the boys has a major crush on since middle school.

My first problem is the guys look like they are 16 but have graduated from college. Whatever I guess. Secondly, the plot isn't very good, the jokes are rather lame and have to do with penis, poop and other stuff. As if a 14 year old wrote it... hmm...

I'm going to have to say pass on this one. Not worth the time. And I don't even remember laughing once.

Movie: 1/5

Recommend: No